The IAAPA Hall of Fame was established in 1990 to celebrate outstanding achievement and contributions to the growth and development of the amusement park and attractions industry; an industry that, like few others, depends on the imaginations, talents, and vision of its dream builders.  Since that time, dozens of industry pioneers have been honored.

The IAAPA Hall of Fame inductees are not chosen by virtue of their personal success alone but rather for significant contributions to the entire industry. Nominees may be living or deceased.

To be considered for the IAAPA Hall of Fame, a nominee must:

  • Have been associated with the attractions industry, preferably for a minimum period of 10 years.
  • Have been associated with a theme or amusement park, water park, family entertainment center, zoo, aquarium, museum, science center, resort, or other attraction, manufacturer, supplier, or designer.
  • Have made a significant contribution to the worldwide attractions industry that has provided innovation, education, leadership, and/or influence both inside his/her organization AND within the industry in a manner that will continue to be of value in the future. Examples include contributions to the attractions industry at large such as: 1) Literary contribution; 2) Design or invention of material equipment, processes, or technical services; 3) Innovation in conjunction with attractions, rides, exhibitions, entertainment, food, merchandise, games, engineering, or safety; or 4) Be a well-known individual who has significantly contributed to the success and inspiration of other leaders in the global industry. 

2018 IAAPA Hall of Fame Award Recipients

Continuing a 28-year tradition, IAAPA inducted 18 attractions industry legends into the IAAPA Hall of Fame in 2018:

Eugenius Birch, Architect and Civil Engineer, United Kingdom

Roland Callingham, Creator of Bekonscot, United Kingdom 

Levitt Luzern Custer, Custer Specialty Co., United States 

Phil Dexter, Big Surf Waterpark, United States

Carl Hagenbeck, Tierpark Hagenbeck, Germany

Bernard Harrison, Bernard Harrison and Friends Ltd., Singapore 

Alfred R. Hodge, National Association of Amusement Parks / IAAPA, United States

Frank Hrubetz and Lee Eyerly, Eyerly Aircraft Company, United States

Edward Joy Morris, Morris Chute Company, United States

Marcelo Periales, Neverland, Argentina 

Irving Rosenthal, Coney Island, Palisades Amusement Park, United States

Dr. Peter Rosner, Developer of Magnetic Braking and Launch Systems, Germany 

Gary Story, Premier Parks / Six Flags Entertainment, United States

Masatomo Takahashi, Oriental Land Company, Japan

Kelly TarltonUnderwater World, New Zealand

Alexander “Al” Weber, Jr., Paramount Parks, Palace Entertainment, Six Flags Entertainment, Apex Parks Group, United States 

Dr. Harry Wegeforth, Zoological Society of San Diego, United States 

Learn more about IAAPA Hall of Fame Award recipients.

Learn more about other IAAPA Awards:
IAAPA Service Awards
IAAPA Brass Ring Awards
IAAPA Young Professional of the Year Award